Book Review: A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

FInch is happy to be back at his modeling job again!

FInch is happy to be back at his modeling job again!

Something you may not know about me is that I am seriously obsessed over everything witchy, or Wiccan, or pagan. Anything with MAGIC! I have and always will be a huge fan of Charmed. Practical Magic is one of my favorite movies, and of course Hocus Pocus is a Halloween tradition I will never break. I used to be embarrassed about my love for magic, but not anymore! Here it is, on my blog for the whole world to read: I love witches and magic!

Somebody recommended this book to somebody, who told a good friend of mine about it, and then she told me about it. The book was somewhat described to me as: witches and history all combined into a love story. I had to read it! It’s a big, thick book, and some of my friends were worried they might not be able to finish it in one month (we were reading it for our book club), but as soon as I started reading it I knew there would be no problem. I might actually have to slow myself down.

I’ve read some books about Paganism and Wicca, and even though I don’t think I would ever practice it, it is fascinating to me. That’s one of the reasons this book was so interesting to me, it’s full of magic, and it explains the magic, where it comes from, how witches use it and how not to use it. The author manages to interweave, with great success, fantasy and actual history, and that makes it seem all the more real. It seriously gave me goose bumps at times. Every detail of history that is described in her book is actually very accurate. Deborah is a historian, she teaches (among other things) European History! Trust me when I say you will learn a thing or two about history reading this book.

The main character’s name is Diana… which some of you might know is my name too. I’ve always loved my name, my mom said she named me after Princess Diana, and I love that. Diana’s love interest in the book (I won’t say much so I won’t spoil many surprises) is Matthew; which just happens to be my husband’s name too! See the connection?! How could I not be obsessed with this book? There are more connections I found between my life and Diana’s life, but I won’t bore you with those details. Let’s just say, I feel like she could be me but in a parallel universe!

The interaction between the characters in the books feels so natural and real to me. I can picture every character and imagine myself having a conversation with them. I love it! One of my favorite characters, believe it or not, is Diana’s home! Yes the actual physical HOUSE! How amazing is Deborah Harkness to have given a house so much personality, I consider it an actual character.

It is such an intricate story, yet described so perfectly well I can actually feel like part of that world. It feels like right now, at this very moment, Diana is meeting Matthew for the first time while away at Oxford University. The mystery of Diana and her powers goes far beyond what she or anybody could have foreseen, and it’s that mystery that hooks you and keeps you reading until 2am. Every little secret she uncovers leads to more secrets and more surprises. Of course, this is just the first part of the story. The next two books Shadow of Night and Book of Life are amazing as well! I will be reviewing them here soon.

I don’t know what else to say without spoiling the book for you, and if I keep writing I might not be able to help myself from spilling it all out. So I’m just going to finish off by saying I give this book 6 out of 5 stars. {Yes, you read that correctly}

One thought on “Book Review: A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

Leave a Reply

