Book Review: The Millenium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson

I realized afer I took this picture I should've included all three books, but then Finch wouldn't pose like this again.

I realized afer I took this picture I should’ve included all three books, but then Finch wouldn’t pose like this again, so it stays like this. Still extremely adorable, in my opinion!

Larsson was a Swedish journalist and writer, I kind of envision him being like one of the main characters: Mikael Blomkvist. By the way, how do you pronounce his last name? I always get frustrated with that… but moving on: The Millennium Series {The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl who Played with Fire, and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest), were published posthumously; meaning they were published after Larsson passed away. This makes me happy and sad at the same time. After reading these three books, and seeing what an amazing writer he is, I feel sad knowing I will never read another book by him; I am happy to know he is getting the recognition he deserves for being such a brilliant author.

The first book starts out a little slow, and a little more confusing than it should be. First of all, most of the names are Swedish, so it is very hard to grasp the picture of who is who, where they are, what they do, and how they relate to each other. Trust me it will get easier. I had to re-read the first few chapters, but it is worth it! The intricate storyline grasps your attention for the span of three (LONG) books and never lets go. Even after you are done reading, you just want more!

It appears that millions of people all over the world have been grasped by this series, and if you are one of the few who haven’t been swept off your feet by Lisbeth and Mikael I suggest you grab the book and start reading! {Or listening, I don’t judge}. I am no exception. I am truly a fan of the series. I have been captivated by the anti-heroine of the story, Lisbeth, as well as the unconventional hero, Mikael. And all of their sidekicks! Berger, Plague, Trinity, Armansky and even Palmgren! I feel that the author did a spectacular job in making you love an unlovable character. I want to be part of the Knights of the Idiotic Table… you’ll see what I mean when you finish the series 🙂 I particularly like the integration of computers and technology, I’m a technology freak.

This book has very raw and gruesome scenes, which are essential to the storyline. Every detail he explains always comes back to play a bigger role. There are always more levels of secrecy than you expect. And the whole story feels like a maze, a labyrinth… and your guide is Steig Larsson and he is determined to not lose you along the way. He will guide you through the deepest parts of the story and you will come out knowing everything there is to know, but still want more.

The second book takes place a year after the first one ends. It is just as good, if not better than the first one, which is a rare occasion with sequels. It ends with one of the best cliff hangers ever! I recommend you have the third book right next to you so you can keep reading. You’ll thank me later.

The third book will have you at the edge of your seat! It is when everything unfolds and Lisbeth must make a decision that will save her life… or ruin it forever. The conclusion of the series is just as spectacular as the beginning. All three books complement each other, and you cannot read just one. You must read them all, and in order.

Honestly, there is one part of the story that left me quite disappointed. I don’t want to spoil anything for anybody, so if you have NOT finished reading all three books, DO NOT READ THE FOLLOWING:

Mikael and Figuerola!? Come on! That’s preposterous! Mikael has to end up with Lisbeth! I’m seriously upset over this. I do not imagine Figuerola being pretty… sorry, but that’s not the vibe she gave me. Tall and muscular is not someone Mikael falls in love with. It all happened so quickly, she took him in for a conversation with Edklinth and all of a sudden they’re sleeping together (which is fine because Mikael is a slut like that) but then she’s all jealous of Berger {I was so annoyed with her!}; and then she’s in love with him… and HE’S IN LOVE WITH HER?! WHAT?! That cannot be true. I don’t care what the book says, Mikael and Lisbeth end up together… I know it.

All I have to say is that the popularity of these novels is well deserved, and I’m happy to try to convince you or anybody else to read these books.

 

Leave a Reply

