Book Review: The Gunslinger by Stephen King

My brother and sister-in-law told me The Dark Tower series was one of the best series out there. They are both book lovers and have steered me in the right direction before, so I was not about to doubt them! The Gunslinger is the first in the series for Stephen King’s The Dark Tower, so far I’ve read up to Wizard and Glass and it is an amazing series. Seven books total, and they are intense. {The last one has 700 pages, more or less, so it’s going to keep me busy for a while!}

“The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed.”

I forgot to include this adorable picture of Finch with 'The Gunslinger'!

I forgot to include this adorable picture of Finch with ‘The Gunslinger’!

The opening line for The Gunslinger, is basically the entire premise of the book. Who is the gunslinger? Why is he following the man in black? Is he evil or is he good? Those are just some of the questions that poured through my mind while reading this book. Be warned, IT IS CONFUSING! I had to re-read a few chapters, and then I just begged my sister-in-law to explain it to me… she did, but only a little! If I had been patient, I could’ve figured it all out in time, but I was impatient, and too enthralled by the mysteries of this book. Honestly, what hooks you in is how the story is told. You will love Roland, the gunslinger, and his epic adventure.

Give it a chance, remind yourself that this is just the first one in a series of SEVEN books. It can be a little slow at times, but I was so excited to learn more about this beautiful world Stephen King has created, I barely put the book down. This genre, Dark Fantasy, is truly Stephen King’s realm. He does an amazing job of creating a world that could easily be real. It is one of the longest epic quest stories I have ever decided to read, {Lord Of The Rings being another one}.

What really caught my attention was Stephen King’s ability to create this multiple-universe situation in which he actually weaves in his other stories. What an incredible mind and creative attention to detail he must have in order to create a world in which seemingly unrelated books intertwine and coexist to create one {long} epic novel. It has taken him almost a lifetime of writing to create such intricate stories, and I have a feeling this truly is a masterpiece!

The Gunslinger, will definitely be a great read for anyone who has enjoyed The Lord of the Rings or other fantasy series. It appeals to the magical, the mysterious and at the same time, gives you elements that can connect to our own world, giving you hope that it could… potentially… be real!

One thought on “Book Review: The Gunslinger by Stephen King

Leave a Reply

