Book Review: John Dies at the End by David Wong

I have John Dies at the End as an ebook, but Finch doesn’t mind. (Also, he just got groomed!)

John Dies at the End is one of those books I wouldn’t even know how to begin describing. It’s gory, full of monsters, and disgusting details; but somehow it is one of the most entertaining books I’ve ever read. It’s probably because I love the nonchalant-way in which the narrator, Dave, tells the story. Uniquely creative and definitely not like anything you’ve ever read… Somehow it makes me proud to say: I loved it!

I actually started reading this book, like 10ish years ago. It was online and it was free, sort of like a web-series or something to that effect. It was so good I couldn’t patiently wait for more content, so after a while I stopped reading it. Then I forgot about it for a long time, until a couple years ago some friends and I got together for our book club meeting, and started discussing some of our favorite books. I remembered John Dies at the End, and told them about it. When I got home I immediately looked it up online. To my surprise, it was now in print and they were even making it into a movie! AWESOME!

Needless to say, I purchased it and read it right away! It was even more amazing than the first time around! It really is a great story, and great storytelling. I feel there is no way to review this book without spoiling it, so I’m going to say only one thing: If you are not queasy, or easily grossed out, you MUST read it!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: John Dies at the End by David Wong

Leave a Reply

