Book Review: Pines by Blake Crouch

My trusted, and always faithful, model: Finch! Thank you for always looking so adorable!

My trusted, and always faithful, model: Finch! Thank you for always looking so adorable!

The book is about a Secret Service Agent, Ethan Burke, who is assigned to investigate the mysterious disappearance of two other Agents in the town of Wayward Pines. From the beginning everything is filled with mystery and you get the undeniable feeling that something is wrong, very wrong. People are acting weird, and Agent Burke can’t help but feel like he’s going crazy.

Slowly we discover clues about what’s going on in this crazy town, but nothing makes sense. Everything is so confusing, and you get a sense that you’re missing something important. The mystery in this book is enveloping. Things makes sense, then they don’t. You think you know what’s going on, but do you? Really?

My experience reading this book was very interesting. I was so enthralled by the whole Twilight Zone-esque mystery of it all, I was actually acting all paranoid in my real life! I had to double check that my phone and ID were where I left them, and I would look over my shoulder to see if anybody was following me. I had to keep reminding myself: ‘it’s just a book, Didi!’. It really got my heart racing a couple of times!

I loved the style of writing the author used; everything seemed so real to me! I loved it up until the last few pages. It went from being a mystery which would make your skin crawl, to… I wouldn’t even know what to call it, but it definitely wasn’t good. It makes no sense, it’s so far-fetched it’s ridiculous. I’ve read reviews in which people LOVE the ending, so maybe it was not for me… Maybe you’ll think it’s the best ending in the history of endings. I would love to know what you think!

It’s a short fun read and I don’t think you’ll regret reading it! :)\

 

PS: I tjust found out, FOX is making a TV Show based on the book! It’s called Wayward Pines! <– I’m really excited about this!

Leave a Reply

