Book Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer

Repeat Pic! Because he's just way too cute in this one!

Repeat Pic! Because Finch is just way too cute in this one!

I read Cress awhile ago, after I got my book signed by Marissa Meyer, and I am so so so happy with this book. I said before that Cinder was amazing, Scarlet was even better than Cinder, and now Cress did not disappoint me; because it is the best book so far. But, it’s kind of hard to explain… like each book is better than the last one, but at the same time, they make each other great. So by the time you read Cress, Cinder and Scarlet are equally amazing. Am I making any sense here?
The bottom line is that all of the books in The Lunar Chronicles are pure genius.

Cress is a futuristic re-telling of Rapunzel. I asked Marissa why she named her Cress, so if you don’t know you should really ask her (she tells it much better than I ever could). Cress isn’t stuck in a tower, she’s stuck in a Satellite. Who put her there? Well, obviously the evil Queen Levana. In case you are wondering: Yes! Cress is Lunar!

Cress’ story isn’t so much about finding out about herself like Cinder and Scarlet were. It is more about proving to herself she’s more than a girl with long hair stuck in a satellite. She deserves to be out in the world, to be free. To have adventures, and choose her own fate. We see Cress find her courage, make friends, and go on the adventure she’s been waiting for.

I can say this has been my favorite book so far, but it would be impossible to have Cress’ story without Cinder’s and Scarlet’s! I’m sure when Winter comes out, I will LOVE that one too… and I’ll also be sad because the story is over.

Have you read Cress? What did you think? What’s been your favorite book so far?
How about your favorite character!?
{I think my favorite character might be Iko, but it’s so hard to choose!}

Leave a Reply

