DropCaps

I consider myself to be a creative person, but lately I haven’t been doing anything creative. I was starting to feel like I was stuck in a dull, gray, rut. I decided I needed to do something about it; to keep my creative juices flowing! You know what they say, you can’t use up creativity, the more you use it the more you’ll have!

Have you heard of Skillshare? It is my favorite website at the moment! It is amazing! I love how you learn from professionals in the field, and you can learn at your own pace!! ♥ I started by taking a class by my favorite Letterer/Artist, Jessica Hische. She teaches this awesome Hand Lettering Class, and I’ve been wanting to take it for a long time, so I did! It was one of the best decisions I’ve made in 2014!!!

(Want to take a class? Let me refer you!)

In this the class, you choose a book you like and create a DropCap for it. A DropCap is the first letter of a paragraph that is enlarged, and often decorated; it ‘drops’ down two or more lines, hence the name. You need to write down notes and brainstorm a lot, so it is essential you read (and like) the book. Since the book I chose was A Discovery of Witches, I just had to re-read it! Then you sketch, sketch some more, choose an idea you like, and use Illustrator to bring your idea to life. I was a little nervous at first, I wasn’t sure I could make something I’d like; but I had nothing to worry about, it was an amazing experience! I had a blast going through all of her videos, which are both funny and incredible helpful! I learned a lot of new techniques, and I fell in love with being an artist all over again.

As I said before, the book I chose was A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness (one of the books I’m obsessed about). I love this book, so it was really easy to re-read it and come up with way too many ideas for my design.

sketchbook_4

For me, some of the most iconic images from the book are the descriptions of illustrations from different alchemical manuscripts, more specifically Ashmole 782. I played around with the idea of alchemical circles, roses, and silver & gold. I really liked my idea of the two roses, one silver, one gold inside of an alchemical circle, but many of the people I showed it to didn’t recognize it as an H, so I went with the idea of the two pillars, connected by the rose and vine.

Sketch_1

I am really happy with the results, it turned out better than I imagined! I sincerely had a blast taking this class, and I can’t wait to see what other fun classes I can take!

ADOW_DropCap_Dark 

So now for some FUN news!!!!

Based on the experience I had doing this DropCap, I have decided to make a full alphabet based on Ready Player One! It will probably take me a while, but I like the challenge, and it gives me the ability to stay creative! What do you guys think?!

2 thoughts on “DropCaps

Leave a Reply

