RPO: Monty Python and the Holy Grail

Monty. Python.

I’ve heard that name quite a lot since I moved to the States. I knew there were several movies, and a TV show; many of my friends quote it (a lot). People say it’s a cult-classic but, I’d never seen it before, and I never felt like I needed to watch it. If it hadn’t come up in Ready Player One, I don’t think I would’ve seen it, to be honest.

But I did, and now I better understand what Monty Python and the Holy Grail is all about. Mainly, it’s pure silliness.

It starts out with Arthur, King of the Britons, who is in search of knights willing to join his round table in Camelot. He fake-rides a horse, while his companion knocks two coconut halves against each other to create the noise hooves would make (that right there should give you the first indication this movie is very silly). He is able to find 4 knights to accompany him back to Camelot: Sir Galahad (the pure), Sir Lancelot (the brave), Sir Bedevere (the quiet), and Sir Robin (the not-quite-so-brave-as-Sir-Lancelot). Suddenly, god appears up in the sky, and gives them the quest of finding the Holy Grail, which they gratefully accept as they are brave knights.

A lot of things happen on their quest to find the Holy Grail, but for me, the most iconic part was when they encountered the castle with the French soldiers who taunt them. The French yell absurdities such as: “I fart in your general direction!” and my personal favorite: “Your mother was a hamster and your father smelled of elderberries!”.

More silly things happen, and King Arthur finally makes it to Castle Aaargh! where the Holy Grail is said to be hidden. This castle happens to be inhabited  by the same french soldiers who taunted them earlier in the movie. The taunting continues, and this time they are even meaner with taunts like: “Sons of a window-dresser!” and “I wave my private parts at your aunties!”. So, Arthur, commands an army to ride towards the french soldiers… and no, I have no idea where this army came from (but I think that’s the whole point).

I will not ruin the ending for those who haven’t seen it. It is probably the most ridiculous movie I’ve ever seen, closely followed by Anchorman 1 & 2 (actually, most movies with Will Ferrel). I’m glad I saw it, but I don’t think I’m obsessed over it as I know some people are (or were back when it came out).

Leave a Reply

