RPO: A Long Time Ago…

Let’s talk Star Wars.

Episode I: The Phantom Menace.

I was very young when I first saw this movie, and I think that’s the main reason I remember liking it so much (this one, and all the other Star Wars movies). I loved seeing the goofy, yet funny JarJar Binks. I appreciated the fact that Anakin was just a kid, yet he was able to do so much. Did I want to become a Jedi just like him? Of course! Did I want to build my own android? Absolutely! Natalie Portman became one of my favorite actresses; and it totally blew my mind when I realized Queen Amidala and Padme were the same person!

But I was a kid, and the way I see things now has changed drastically. I think re-watching Star Wars is one of the best decision I’ve ever made (as far as my nerdiness is concerned). I really liked the whole concept of Star Wars, and I knew the characters, but there were so many details I missed! For example, the intro at the beginning, I new what it looked like, and the words ‘A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away‘ were iconic to me, but I never actually understood/read the whole thing. And so when I watched it the other day, it was a little shocking to know it was all (somewhat) about taxation! I had no idea Star Wars was so politically themed until now. There’s even a Senate! (<– I'm glad I pay attention to Politics now).

Anyway, I realize now JarJar Binks is unnecessary and at times very annoying. He's hard to understand, and adds no intrinsic value. I think the reason they made him was to appeal to kids, which in my case obviously worked. In my opinion, the only reason Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan go to the Gungan City was to have visually stunning scene. I get that the Gungan's help out the Naboo later in the story, but I see no reason for it other than that.

But my biggest revelation came after realizing, that Qui-Gon being powerful as he is, did not free Shmi (Anakin's mom) from being Watto's slave. If he had saved Shmi, Anakin would've never turned to the Dark Side. So even though I consider Qui-Gon Jinn one of my favorite Jedi's, I lost a little respect for him at that moment.

Other than the graphics being a little cheesy, I love the storyline and I am so happy I started watching these movies again. I'm going to understand them a lot better now! I know I'm a little late to the game, but better late than never, right? πŸ™‚

Have you watched Star Wars recently? Did you have any big revelations like I did? Share them in the comments!

6 thoughts on “RPO: A Long Time Ago…

  1. being much much older I can say my first experience of star wars was still as mind boggling…..I was 15, couldn’t yet drive, a friend’s mom took us to the theatre. At the end of the movie as the credits rolled by I just sat in my seat. Because the movie wasn’t over! This was before the days of sequels and series movies or even a scene after the credits. It was before directors and writers talked about their visions…..hell it was before the internet and blogs and youtube. All I knew was that movie was not finished! My friends, the mom, all got up and I just sat there, pissed because movies were meant to end. Changed my life, actually changed the way we view movies. I was too self centered to consider political themes in movies then….kinda still am πŸ™‚ Glad to know that Star Wars still inspires new insights in the world!

    • Thanks for sharing your story! And I can relate! Have you seen any of the movies recently? Have your opinions on them changed at all?

Leave a Reply

